Author Topic: ? for breeders re: cryptorchid-ism  (Read 1056 times)

Offline paintponylvr

• LP Painted Ponys
? for breeders re: cryptorchid-ism
« on: September 18, 2016, 10:11:12 PM »
Diane, Holly and others -

This one is long - stating some history, stating current happenings and then asking my questions & going into what I'm looking at doing.  Grab that cuppa "java" or maybe even something much stronger - you may need it!  Your feet may not be up for long, LOL.

I've been breeding Shetland ponies and Shetland pony X's for 21 years now (and other breeds of horses before that).  We have had small numbers overall, though, with some years no foals at all.  I've bred a total of 16 stud colts sired by 4 stallions and had a handful of others that arrived either at the side of a purchased mare or in utero.  I don't remember the number of colts we had when we were raising Paint horses when I was a youth (but our fillies out numbered the colts).

Until now, I've always had our stallions/colts with no problems.  ALL of our colts have had two noticeable testicles "down" at birth, but at least a couple of vets have mentioned that some of them were "hard to find" while standing later at older ages for checking before drugging them for castration.  The last 2 taken to the Vet School were questioned until drugging/relaxed and suddenly - "OH, there they are".